FORGET THAT KISS

WDF_1264860

Please
Forget that kiss

Forget that our lips touched
Forget i gave in to a moment
Forget you allowed lust inside
Forget i breathed next to your nose
Forget you inhaled near my neck

Please
Forget that kiss

Remember
You are the grandson of the owner of the ranch
I only a mere daughter of the kitchen maid
Remember
You are the sole heir to the coffee plantation
I a child of the plantation farmer
Remember
You wear silk embroidered reinments
I adorn simple cotton blue rags
Remember
You were born with a silver spoon on your tongue
I have yet to dine with a silver spoon

Please
Forget that kiss

Understand
You kill me silently when you leave
I fear you will not return to me
Understand
You have me under your spell
I try to grasp air in moments of desparation
Understand
Your love is illegal for me
I am a poison for your smile
Understand
Your worth is more than i can spell
I feel worthless i cannot be with you

Please
Forget that kiss

Forget your heart beat fast
Forget i would not let go of your lips
Forget you craved my arms around your neck
Forget i needed your hands around my waist

Please
Forget that kiss

Forget i need you like a drug addict
Forget you want me like aged wine
Forget i weaken without that kiss
Forget you melt without that kiss

Remember
Understand
Our love simply cannot be birthed
That kiss will have to fade away
Mist into nothingness
Until only a dream remains
In place of lips that refuse to let go

Copyright April 2016
Mulunga Alukwe

Leave a Reply

