SHE THREW ME A BABY SHOWER

babyshower

I have been so exhausted
I hold my belly and smile
Yet i cannot help but feel a tinge of guilt
I will soon be a mother
Every instinct in me is heightened
Emotions raging deep inside
A weary sigh escapes my throat
Suddenly a hand is on my shoulder
Are you okay, she asks

I want to say something
I manage a nod and a smile that does not reach my heart
She planned all this
She knows everything i want
She has cried with me
When 3 years we waited for a child
She who sacrificed her time
When i was crumbling and lost
Stood by me when mother-in-law turned harsh
Held my hand through it all
Jenniffer
My best friend
My maid of honor at my wedding
Laughter surrounds me
Air filled with shrieks of excitement
Each time i open my gifts
She made this all possible
The baby shower i have always dreamt of
I’m not sure who hugged me this time
Was it Kristin who gave me the diapers
I am so exhausted
He’s kicking now, i know its a boy, they don’t
It’s to be a surprise really
After we’ve had cake then i’ll reveal
I hold my belly and a tear escapes my eye
She’s so happy, Annette shrieks
My heart is in pain
Why is the world collapsing
Baby kicks even harder
Like he knows my ultimate resolve
My baby shower
I finally have a baby shower
I look at Jenniffer
My best friend
My maid of honor at my wedding
I need…
I have…
To tel her…
I’m carrying her husband’s child

Copyright April 2016
Mulunga Alukwe

Leave a Reply

