THE PART OF ME THAT DIED

snow-night-alone-2560x1440-wallpaper420761

I sit in the middle of this sofa
As if the edges would hurt me more
How did it get to this
How did life suddenly turn its back on me
Life i listened to with both ears
I even laughed trying to edge out pain
This sofa seeming to be my only reality
I have sunk deeper into depression
Curled around my naked chest

That beats to a hollow sadness
Aaaaah sadness, i have invented sadness
Deep throated, deep seated sadness
I am upside down on this earth
Looking at the world from a bottomless pit
I have loved immensely
Been broken too many times i forget
What do i want of this world
Where am i to go for peace
The part of me that died
Is that part that loved too much
Loved too much the wrong kind of love
That part that believed humanity is kind
That part that believed they would not leave
I have died even when i didn’t know it
I am that crow resting on the grave stone
Even that part of me died

Copyright March 2016
Mulunga Alukwe

(For anyone who’s ever lost a loved one through Suicide. I can only imagine the sadness they must have felt.)

Leave a Reply

