WAKING UP IN LONELINESS

Sleep Photo

The orange rays of early morning sun
Hit my just woken up face
It warms the tired lines of sleeping on my cheeks
I deeply breath in this fresh morning
Loudly groaning away the unpleasant dreams i had
Such beauty
Such splendor
Who knew mornings can be this serene in the glare of sunshine

The grass below basks in that reflection of orange rays
Dew sparkles
A mighty fine sight truly deeply

In a second the beauty elapses in a flicker
A heavy thud sounds in my chest like a stone
The realization sets in so dismally i am taken aback
Suddenly cold sets in
I feel frozen and stuck
Orange glows replaced by dark clouds of storms
Where did my warmth go
I forget how soothing the sun’s rays were

It feels like I’m a million miles away from home
Yet I’m standing on my stoned balcony edge
This is a familiar feeling i carry in my heart
My soul knows all too well
My mind has adjusted to its constant reminder

Did i expect too much from love
Was i too obsessed with perfection
To see the beauty in imperfections
Was i too focused on building my empire
I forgot to look at you
Was i running away from myself
To allow vulnerability in front of you
Was i too choosy

I have everything i want now
Yet i have nothing at all
All possessions now suffocate my mind
All i have acquired spell diluted materials
Years of amassing wealth
Years of running for titles
Years of gathering positions
Leave unanswered questions

I keep waking up in loneliness
In the middle of the night i reach out on my bed
You are not there
When i wake up startled by a nightmare
You are not there

The orange rays of early morning sun
Hit my just woken up face
It warms the tired lines of sleeping on my cheeks
I deeply breath in the fresh morning
I have just woken up in loneliness
Day two

Copyright October 2015

Mulunga Alukwe

Leave a Reply

