BURY ME IN PURPLE RAIN

Stormy clouds. Rainy clouds over horizon.

I have seen the world turn blue
Seen tears dry from eyes
Known agony in its purest form
Discovered love sometimes lies
People sometimes let go
Sadness, sadness seems to be the only emotion left
Have i regretted being alive
Do my words seem empty at times
A baby’s lungful cry

Fills the mother with joy
Sometimes it angers the mother
Or even makes her sad
I have traveled in dust
Swallowed sand while running
Running away from myself
Do you ever love enough
Have you seen happiness freely given
Should i have laughed more
Said less goodbyes
Not hidden emotions when it was needed

I have seen the world turn orange
Seen more tears fall from humanity
Known pleasure less often than i should
Discovered love sometimes fails
People sometimes can’t hold on
Sadness, sadness feels like a none existent emotion
Have i regretted not living
Do my words mean everything i say
A baby’s innocent cry
Fills the mother with anxiety
Sometimes it gladdens the mother
Or even makes her proud
I have traveled in sand
Swallowed dust while sitting on earth
Running towards myself
Do you ever love completely
Have you seen happiness given completely
Should i have laughed less
Said more goodbyes
Not hidden emotions so well in my heart
I have seen the world turn silver
I want you to bury me in purple rain
So i can see the world turn majestic
When i close my eyes for the last time

Copyright November 2015

Mulunga Alukwe

Leave a Reply

