BURY ME WITH A LOVE SONG

160209-love-songs-cc-banner

I never lived because i lacked love
I never breathed because i lacked air
I never ate because i lacked food
I never dreamt because i lacked sleep
I never sheltered because i lacked rain
I just lived because there was life
I just breathed because oxygen existed
I just ate because hunger had to be quenched
I just dreamt because my mind wouldn’t be empty
I just sheltered because dry clothes were much warmer
So when i die
Bury me with a love song
My favorite love song
Because you loved my life

I never loved because i was lonely
I never walked because i lacked feet
I never smelled because i lacked nostrils
I never spoke because i lacked lips
I never heard because i lacked ears
I just loved because there was love
I just walked because my path led me here
I just smelled because my nose knew scents
I just spoke because my mouth wouldn’t be silent
I just heard because the noise was everywhere
So when i die
Bury me with a love song
My favorite love song
Because you loved my life

I never feared because i was afraid
I never thought because i was thinking
I never sang because music played
I never climbed because there was no mountain
I never laughed because there was no joke
I just feared because i knew bravery
I just thought because memories stayed
I just sang because songs caressed my heart
I just climbed because i understood victory
I just laughed because i had your humor
So when i die
Bury me with a love song
My favorite love song
Because you loved my life
As i too loved yours
Bury me with a love song

Copyright January 2016
Mulunga Alukwe

Leave a Reply

