CHRISTMAS AT THE VILLAGE

villageatchristmas

I remember all the memories
I feel all the memories
I want all the memories
Memories of a simple time
Kids with no weight on our shoulders
When we played with goats
Pulled the cows tails in wonder
And patted the kittens without worry

We ran around with bicycle tires
Dusty roads not a deterrent to our play
Hmmmm
I feel like it was this morning
When i was a child running around the village
Bare feet i played among the ant hills
Climbed trees to gather guavas
Set traps to catch wild birds we tried to domesticate
Searched and caught grasshoppers to feed long grass
Running around trying to catch white butterflies in summer

I remember all the memories
I feel all the memories
I want all the memories
Memories of running after the chicken
Watching grain dry in the sun as we scatter birds away
Watching mama milk the cows for our breakfast tea
I love the village early morning sun
Cock crowing to wake us from our sweet sleep
Running from one village to another
Calling friends to come out and play
Play in the rain sometimes as Mama disapproved
Sweet sweet rain falling on fertile red earth
Fruit trees grow wildly
Food in abundance
How i miss such simple beautiful times

I remember all the memories
I feel all the memories
I want all the memories
Memories of Christmas in the village
Love in plenty
Food in plenty
Laughter even plentier
Sitting under Jacaranda tree shades
Wind mystifying the beauty that is life
Nothing made me happier
Everything made me happier
Christmas in the village
A lovely thought that gladdens my heart
Makes me deliciously excited
I want a Christmas in the village

Copyright December 2015

Mulunga Alukwe

Leave a Reply

