I KEEP HOPING IT’S YOU

Looking-for-Love-01

The door bell rings loudly
My heart beats too fast i can’t breath
Slowly i rise to get to the door
I keep hoping it’s you

I hear footsteps from the distance
Hear voices speaking softly
I listen more keenly
I keep hoping it’s you

Your music plays in the car sterio
Sounds of moments i remember
So i pay more attention
I keep hoping it’s you

The smell of wet earth when it rains
Leaves lazily dropping on the ground
Wind making sounds at my porch
I keep hoping it’s you

He dances with his mother at a wedding
Looking dreamily into his wife’s eyes
My heart sinks in suddenly
I keep hoping it’s you

Burning chicken emanates from the kitchen
Fire alarm goes off suddenly
Laughter follows
I keep hoping it’s you

I eat at dinner on my own
I see a man’s figure approaching
It’s only the waiter with my water
I keep hoping it’s you

He asks me for dinner tonight
It’s our favorite restaurant
Hunger pangs quickly disappear
I keep hoping it’s you

Sun brightly comes up in the morning
I see a shadow staring back at me
Taunting at my lonely self
I keep hoping it’s you

Nighttime i hurriedly go to my bed
I need to hug my pillow tight
Your scent still lingers on it
I keep hoping it’s you

Your shirt hangs inside the closet
The one you wore last, i hold it
I washed so you could wear it
I keep hoping its you

I see a message on my phone
A silent prayer escapes my heart
Still i cross my fingers in hope
I keep hoping it’s you
Please let it be you

Copyright September 2015

Mulunga Alukwe

4 thoughts on “I KEEP HOPING IT’S YOU

Leave a Reply

