WAITING OUTSIDE YOUR DOOR

cymera_20160414_003657

I know you said we needed time apart
I understand i hurt you bad
When i let him hold me too tight
He wouldn’t let me go
Until you found us in an embrace
My fault i accept
Your bloodied nose i accept my responsibility
You fought for me
Then turned to walk away from me

You wouldn’t pick my calls
Messages went unanswered
Except one you told me it was over
I cannot explain
How my heart shriveled in its chest
At the thought of not seeing you again
I couldn’t fathom
My life without you in it
How could i have let it happen
Who gives in to another’s touch
Why did i not walk away
From that mistake
I know i need you
I get you are everything to me
You left me wanting
I cannot exist without your arms around me
I feel i am shriveling into myself
Because i no longer have you wrapped in me
Please forgive my inadequacy
Forgive my near unfaithfullness
Accept me back in your heart

I am so cold
I am so lonely
I am so strengthless
Here i am
Waiting outside your door
Face pressing against the cold brown wood
I remember how
I used to listen to your heart beat
Tears freely fall from my eyes
I need you back in my life
It’s too cold outside without you
I cannot stay outside any longer
I need you my heart beat
Life is unbearable without you
I know you are enough for me
Deep breath and i ring your doorbell
Twice
Door opens
And my heart stops beating
My best friend is standing at your door
Wearing nothing
But your navy blue shirt

Copyright 2016
Mulunga Alukwe

Leave a Reply

