YOUR LOVE HAD THE POWER TO WOUND

5154511992_71bf1c1c44_b

Questions run through my mind
So fast i have no answers yet
Why did i have to fall in love with you
I knew your heart was too hurt
Too clenched in anger, regrets, resentment
Yet my heart only beat for you
Your presence was all lived for
Longing to be near your heart
When it beat giving you life

You have taken away my heart
You have taken away my life
You have taken away my body
You have taken away my conscience
You have taken away you from me

Pushing me away caused me to cling harder
I wanted to be your redemption
The string that would mend
Your broken down ghostly soul
Sucking the blood out of my veins

I let you sink your pain in me
Absorbing as much as i could
Just so your heart could have space for me
I may have loved you too much
It was not enough
Not enough to bring you from the darkness
Your love had the power to wound
And wound me deeply it did
Wounds too raw to forget too fast
Could i still hope for you

Copyright September 2015

Mulunga Alukwe

Leave a Reply

