BLACK UMBRELLA ON THE STREET

girl

You have me mesmerized
I take a deep breath
Feeling the air go up my nostrils
Into my chest
Then rest snugly inside my heart
I know my crush on your whole being
Is never leaving my heart
We did not care
Who else was under an umbrella
On this cold winter night outside
Couples walked by
The traffic kept moving

Street lights were on
Illuminating that deep orange color
Shadows forming on the ground
Everything was deep in splendour
Feet kept moving creating a rhythm
Spaces filled with people going back, forth
The drizzling rain could not keep me away
An amazing night it was
The moon created a silhouette background
Giving a romantic backdrop
To this street alley where we stood
I did not want to leave your arms
I promised not to be the one that got away
I know we only have this life
It did not matter how fast the wind moved
Or how the rain swayed in the wind
All i know is I am your muse
You are my artistic masterpiece
Even in another life
It is you i want to be with always
Outside your door we stood
None wanted to leave the other’s presence
You did not have to make me stay
All i wanted was to be next to you
I know i have to leave you for a while
So you hold a black umbrella on the street
It is the cover we need
For saying our perfect goodbye

Copyright November 2016
Mulunga Alukwe

Leave a Reply

