I HAVE FINALLY ACCEPTED I AM A POET

bandw08

I wrote words
Yet i did not understand how
My words could have such meaning
How sentences bond together
Would breathe life to the earth
I wrote words
Still i did not comprehend how
My words would be received
How phrases sewn together
Would lend revelations to the universe

I wrote words
Because i felt a deep emotion
I needed to vent my hot chest
I had to bring forth strong feelings
There was cause to pour myself out
Sometimes hold sanity in
I wrote words
Because i experienced a hollow struggle
I needed to collapse my tight bosom
I had to capture heavy emotions
There was need for me to scoop myself up

I wrote words
To escape
To drown
To encounter
To posses
To inhabit
To write

I wrote words
They made me
They spoke to me
They disciplined me
They broke me
They healed me
They were me

Yet i still believed not in them
I felt too inconsequential
I had no faith in my heart’s words
Until you said you believed
My words meant something to you
My words spoke to you clearly
These words i spewed from my belly
Made sense to your subconscious
You had faith in my words

Now i write words
Now i understand
Now i can comprehend
Now i have finally accepted
I am a Poet

Copyright September 2016
Mulunga Alukwe

3 thoughts on “I HAVE FINALLY ACCEPTED I AM A POET

Leave a Reply

