YOUR SCENT IS ALL I HAVE LEFT

my-pillow-is-missing-your-scent

I watched you love another as my heart broke into millions of pieces

I wanted to touch you yet I knew you were not mine

All I could think of was your fingertips in mine

Your kiss I desired so much to the point of insanity

Waiting as if watching a plant germinate and grow from the soil

I knew you could never be mine

Your heart belonged to someone else…her

All the feelings that kept coming to the surface

I tried to hide and laugh with you

Knowing I loved you so much that every part of me hurt

Just thinking that you could never be mine

I knew you only loved her

Your world revolved around her like a magnet

Every dream you had was meant for her and you together

Smiling when you waved back

Trying to push the tears away from my eyes

I knew I had no right to cry over you in any way

Yet it felt like I needed to cry you out of my life for good

Just so I can move on with my life without you

Because you had a heart that was not mine

Moments I dream of I know I have to let go of

If life is to forgive me for wishing you to be only mine

When I know you are hers

And she yours

I am only left with your  Scent to comfort me

 

Copyright January 2017

Mulunga Alukwe

Leave a Reply

